Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Burns Monument, Edinburgh from Nether Craigwell

One of the 'hidden gardens' of the Old Town of Edinburgh, to which I'm fortunate to have a key as the garden is shared by the proprietors and residents of Nether Craigwell.

There are fine views south to Salisbury Crags and east towards the Palace of Holyroodhouse and also the Scottish Parliament. But today's blip is of the Burns' Monument which you can see the tip of through the trees.

I was in the garden having a spot of lunch after cleaning the cottage, and having met friends from Crail who have inherited part of a property nearby and were clearing it out and preparing it for sale. Oh, how I wish I could buy that property - it's such a wonderful space and I could live there quite peacefully but be right in the heart of the city. Oh well, in another life maybe. Unless anyone has a spare half million to lend me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.