Pincushion

A "defining feature" self portrait.

Had my diabetic checkup at the surgery this morning. Y'know, more and more I'm torn between telling the whole truth and getting exasperated trying to explain this particular type of diabetes to someone who is pretty much ticking boxes, and just nodding and smiling and telling them everything they want to know.

One of the questions was pertaining to depression. Does the diabetes get me down? Exhaustion from having a new baby? Well no, not until I'm told to lay off the chocolate and sweet stuff, and restrict myself to only three pieces of fruit a day (where do they get this rubbish from?) because it's full of - wait for it - sugar. Since when do we want to restrict our fruit intake?! Fruit's GOOD for you!! The benefits of fruit FAR outweigh the fact they contain sucrose (which is far different to the refined sugars in processed food and sweets and chocolates). Do I stop drinking milk as well, because that also contains sugar in the form of lactose? And then I get told I apparently have hypercholestrolaemia. High blood pressure. Nobody's mentioned it before so they're starting to lay on the pressure about going onto statins again. This stems from a duff test I had years ago where the cholesterol level came back at 9mmol/l and the nurse freaked - the next test came back at 2 but the label seems to have stuck which irritates me. I hate seeing new people who need my diabetic life history explaining to them because they never seem to have access to all my notes. Grrrr. Wish I had the brain to write a grumbly letter.

Grumble grumble.

Been a very very long day. I was up stupidly early because Charley's nappy was leaking. Ben said he wanted to give him a cuddle so he moved over, and by the time I'd come back with a fresh nappy having dealt with laundry in various states of washing and drying Ben had fallen fast asleep again and Charley was lying there just chattering quietly to himself! Ben said "thankyou mummy" as I shifted him back over to his bit of the bed and carried on snoring, and Charley then pooed as I was about to deal with his nappy resulting in poo getting on everything except the bed thank goodness.

Great start to the day!

The rest of the day has been spent muddling through. Got a child tax credit pack coming to fill in, done laundry and washing up, done the May advert for the Messy Mama Craft Kits, and have had one massively cranky tired Boy all afternoon. He would've probably gone to sleep before Steve got home if I'd let him. I'm beginning to wonder if I should. I had to wake him up and carry him downstairs for breakfast so I wouldn't be too late for my appointment, and he wasn't especially late to bed last night. Don't have to get up in the morning though so those that want to can sleep a little longer!

So we have run out of chocolate and I am feeling a little guilty for attacking the cooking chocolate (white, hit the spot), so as I lay in bed after the boys had fallen asleep wondering if I could be bothered getting up again as there was no chocolate to go downstairs to, I remembered the nutella :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.