Stray Dogs

Our neighborhood has lots of feral cats. But lately there have been sightings of stray dogs. I was first alerted about the white fluffy guy on Monday, but he ran off before I could even get close. James found the yellow one (in back) today and sent me off in that direction, where I was surprised to find my sneaky friend from Monday. This time, I came armed with food and a leash. But there was no way I could get one without scaring off the other by myself. The dogs were barking loudly at me, but as you can see, they did get close enough to sniff at the food. While they were there barking at me, I called the local rescue group to see if they could help me catch both dogs at once. This is what they told me:

"We have had several calls about those dogs. We have no place to put them. You can call the county and they will kill them in 3 days. Or you can let them stay on the street which is the most humane alternative."

OK, I was appalled. James and I both saw these dogs in the middle of a street with moderate traffic. What is humane about letting them fend for themselves with no access to clean water and food and no protection from cars, parasites, infections, etc?

I tried to get the dogs to follow me home. But they ran off again. I haven't seen them since, but we're keeping our eyes peeled for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.