Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

New Shoes On

Check out yesterday's backBlip too!

When Callum asked me for a tissue, I didn't realize the intended recipient would be his new dinosaur shoes.

And so it was that he set about restoring them to their yesterday spanking newness.

Playground, then we meet Reuben and his school friends at the library (they took the Big Blue Bus!), a long library stay for Callum and I when Reuben left with the school and I found myself just resting my eyes for a little bit - I couldn't help myself - as I embarked upon the 10th book, grabbed some lunch in the al fresco cafe in the modernist Santa Monica Library's courtyard and off we set for home. Therapies are on Spring Break (Easter holidays) for Reuben this week but his school doesn't break up. I was mightily touched upon our return when Reuben wrote out my name so beautifully and all by myself for the first time, having only the letters placed above as a guide. I shall forever save that scrap of paper although I had to hang it up on the string and pegs upon which their artwork sits in the kitchen.

Kristina is here this evening to help with Reuben and keep the wrestling matches between them to a minimum. Fred, our friend from our Florida years has just popped in to visit, it's been a year, and now I'm about to settle into a couple of episodes of Mad Men. In my advertising career days I was on the client side being wined and dined. The agency names they talk of are coming right back to me, and as fictionalized as the show is, there is a true element of reality in there too, intriguing and shocking in equal measures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.