Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Ready steady go

Today's plan A was a sunrise and so I was out and about at 05:30. The problem living so close to the equator is that sunrise and sunset happen very quickly, so you cannot look out the window and think, "that looks nice" and amble on out to find something pretty to lay it over, you have to be there, waiting.

I rode down to the common in readiness, but the sunrise was so stunningly underwhelming, I didn't fire off a single shot. Not even an insect blip was available as the last piece of vegetation on the path had been scraped away, so the common is no longer on the blip map.

I bought some breakfast (kupat tahu, which will actually sustain me for the entire day) and contemplated a plan B. I decided to test the camera and try for the ladybird in flight. As you can plainly see, I was successful and all the blip monster demanded in return was a very soggy bottom, a small price to pay.

I sat down in front of the bush and was able to get minimum focal distance. The shaded area demanded maximum ISO and widest aperture to get the speed. Still not enough to freeze the action, but I was extremely happy with the results. The bug was very agitated by my presence and it was obvious that I was at least going to get a shot at it and was prepared to take several days to achieve my goal.

I just could not choose what to blip, so decided to do a composite of the sequence, all fired off within a couple of seconds. I have posted the three individual shots in folio, for the purists, LOL.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.