Foxy Phoenix

Meet my pencil feathered bantam, formerly known as Matilda, now renamed Phoenix, as she has survived two recent fox attacks.

My little flock of hens are in a fox proof house and run, but I do let them out into the garden when the dog and I are pottering about.

Last week she was attacked by a fox but must have escaped from its jaws, as evidenced by the blood on her back and the large pile of feathers under the Yew tree. Sadly her good friend, Runner Bean was not so lucky.

Yesterday was even more dramatic. I was digging the veggie patch at lunchtime. There was a loud cackling, I looked up and not five yards from me was a fox (vixen) looking straight at me with little Phoenix in her mouth!!

I shouted, the dog barked, the fox ran, the dog gave chase. The fox dropped Phoenix and she ran towards the hen house. I chased the dog and the fox as they disappeared into stable wood.

On my return, with the dog, Phoenix was nowhere to be seen, and I thought she must have died of shock in the undergrowth.

At dusk, when the hens take themselves to bed, there she was, limping and partially plucked.

This morning she has laid an egg and is looking quite chipper. You can see the lack of feathers at the base of her tail, but otherwise she seems unscathed.
I'm sure Mrs Fox has some hungry mouths to feed right now, but I would prefer it if Chicken was taken off the menu.

Mellors is going to put some electric fencing trip wires up to deter the foxes.

Last time he did that, it was me that tripped over it and got a shock.

The time before that Mellors lost a finger. He had fixed a shot gun to the trip wire, which he managed to set off while adjusting it. Boom! The finger was recovered and taken to hospital with the man, but it could not be re-attached.

Finally many thanks for all the lovely comments on yesterday's primrose blip.
I am out for the rest of the day, but will catch up with you all soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.