My portfolio journal

By Lifeis123

Two different events

I remembered a long series of Gas pipelines beside my uncles bamboo cottage in his village, the southern part of Myanmar(Burma). It was an evening when I visited the house of my uncle. Phyu Phyu was reading her home work out loud with a tiny dim candle. We were having dinner with two candles. My uncle said the petroleum price was going up again, it doesn't seem to get cheap these days. He continued his conversation, saying that one day I want to see my kid studying under bright electric light but I see no chance at the moment. Then his wife interrupted ''well Ko Kyi, I always thought that we are lucky enough to light our house with these small candles. I always make sure that we go to bed on time.'' I then looked at the clock hanging by bamboo wall, displaying 8.30 pm. Continually we all looked at each other knowing consciously that we should be in bed by 9.00 pm. I again asked Ko Kyi what happened to the land which was taken by the government for the gas pipelines that connect to neighbouring countries. He sadly said that he was told by the authority that his land was Government's Property even though he owned it. No comment was made from anyone following Ko Kyi's speech, instead a little girl's voice was breaking the silence. It suddenly reminded me of a Government's campaign on a city in middle part of Myanmar, quoting that "Lets go to bed early, feel healthy, exercise and go walking early". Then five minutes to nine, Phyu Phyu was asked to go to bed by her mother in order to save candles. The night was quiet as usual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.