Raspberryberet

By AprilJane

Star Wars Meets Harry Potter

Had a lovely afternoon with the children sewing costumes for them (for no reason other than they love a costume). Al wanted a Dementor costume (he always loves the baddies) and Betsy wanted a Jedi Knight cloak (she loves the good guys).

I'm loving Al's Dementor 'gasp', and in particular his very un-Dementor like socks!

Betsy did most of the sewing herself. I put the sleeves in, I wish I could have shown her how but I make everything by bodging and eyeballing it and don't really know how myself. I wish I knew how to sew properly, not least because I'd love to teach her. Still, they were both very pleased and that's the main thing.

After yesterday's 'incident' there was a person patrolling the playground making sure there were 'no ball games'. Made me laugh. Betsy and I didn't push our luck anyway and spent the waiting time reading the programme from the Harry Potter tour on Sunday.

I wonder if I could take a sewing class somewhere? I'd love to be able to make clothes from scratch - I know exactly what I like and what suits me but you have to comb the charity shops on a regular basis to find it. Which is no hardship, really. But wouldn't it be great to make it yourself? Properly, I mean.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.