Chaos and Calm

By KatKatzenjammer

Time heals all wounds...

... But scars remain.

On a down day, today. Today is three years since the car accident that left me a very broken woman, physically and mentally.

While I know in my head that I have come a long way in my recovery (still a long way to go with three more reconstructive surgeries to go) and my mental state, there will always be rough days - be it that I'm in more pain than most days, or something like a loud car engine sends me into panic.

Time has healed all the cuts, but I have scaring like this literally from head to toe on my right side. While I don't mind the scars - they tell my story - I do still get bothered by other people being replulsed by them... So much so, I still wear long sleeves on a day that calls for a t-shirt. Even though I have managed to cleverly hide a lot of the scarring with tattoos - the area I live in is very snooty and upper-class, so my tattoos and piercings are frowned upon, too.

Damned if I do, damned if I don't.

Going to go deal with the emotional wounds that have been re-opened now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.