A Year Through My Eyes

By egbaldwin

Farewell Singapore

03.04.12

So I've spent the day milling about. I'm sure I could have utilised my time a lot better here but at the same time I'm quite glad I used the time to go at my own pace and recharge my batteries. Being poorly at the end of Sri Lanka (wasn't hay fever) knocked it out of me somewhat!

So to conclude my time in Singapore, it is a stunning vibrant cosmopolitan place! People from most walks of life are living here. But there are more shopping complexes than you can shake a stick at! Not entirely sure why they are all needed but there is obviously here finance out here which is how they are all surviving side by side!

For such a structurally confused city all the buildings gel together, the old, the new and the futuristic! Even rush hour seems calm and restrained! There is some traffic but it's all done in a grown up civilised manor (more that can be said for London at times!)

So as it goes, my first real experience of flying solo on my travels hasn't been too bad! Even managed to jump in on someone's mini van to the airport saving me $20 so happy days, I'll make a backpacker out of me yet! Lol!

That was going to be the end but I've been kinda bored at the airport as my flights delayed! To the point that we're sitting airside minus a plane.......could be a long wait. Anyhow I've received my second pat down by security (neither time did I set off the alarm) and my bag was questioned again, it'll be that deadly hairbrush I've been stowing away!

I do suddenly feel quite old though, as much as I'm liking being able to hook onto wifi when it's available about a dozen teenagers sprinted through the gate to get to be two computers with free internet, I had no such urge. I must be growing up :-) lol

Next stop Melbourne, Australia!!!

This blip is our plane eventually pulling into the gate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.