Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

BLACKIE

As ubiquitous as they are in our garden, this blackbird pair resist digital capture. They will come very close to me while I am sitting or working in the garden, but if I show the camera, they are off. I wonder if they see it as a huge bird. Perhaps the single eye of the lens may make them think bird rather than human? Anyway, I sneaked up on Mr Blackie today and caught him from behind the decking balustrade as he explored the path. Meanwhile, Mrs Blackie was calling to him cheerfully across the lawn, while working along the newly edged path, pulling out monster worms.
Quiet day at home - now preparing for guests for dinner: broccoli and marjoram soup; a mild sweet potato and almond curry; and blackcurrant and apple crumble - I make it sound better than reality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.