Plus ça change...

By SooB

Relaxing day

Happy birthday to me!

The cake worked out well, though Mr B had to improvise when it came to getting the icing on the cake. Hence the finger marks. And it has been lovely having a day of not really lifting a finger to anything you might call work. Normally I'm changing clothes half the day from dropping kids off clothes to work clothes to DIY store clothes back to work clothes and back to picking the kids up clothes (they used to get grumpy when I showed up in work clothes). But today I just got dressed and was done.

Some plant shopping in the market, with very cheery plant stall holders happy to give me lots of advice about what things are called and where they grow best. Tomorrow the kids have an unscheduled day off school (teacher training) so we have a couple of Katherine's friends coming over for the day. I hope the weather's ok: there's a limit to my provision of crafting activities in French...

And finally a flower has come out on the mysterious plant on the terrace - which makes me think it definitely is borage (though I'd appreciate a confirmation from someone in the know before I start eating it).

An understated and quite delightful birthday. Which has left me feeling a bit like this cat: snoozing in the sort-of sun in next door's garden (an abandoned house - quite literally abandoned since the lady who lived there apparently just upped and left one night years ago - leaving coffee cups on the bench and clothes in drawers).

(Just to clarify: I'm not sleeping in next door's garden, but have just had a day of laziness like a cat might.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.