Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hockney and Harry, but no Henry...

Henry and I were up and out earlier than usual for our promenade this morning - We were off to London. JR and I were off to London, not Henry and I... Henry wasn't fussed, though. A daily promenade and he's happy as Larry Henry.

As we walked to the station, it started to rain, so we waited till Boots opened at 8.30 to buy an umbrella. When I say we waited till it opened, I mean we waited till 8.35 before I tapped on the window and pointed to my watch and they opened. Of course, having bought the umbrella, this ensured that it didn't rain for the rest of the day.

As I was waiting, a brilliant blip walked by. A man, walking very slowly, in a scarlet satin suit, black patent leather shoes, yellow frilled shirt and black trilby went by. I managed to get a quick snap of him, and noticed that he disappeared into a café. I am wondering if this is a routine for him, so I intend to be at that café one morning at 8.40, and might pluck up the courage to ask if I can take a photo ...

The day in London was marvellous. We actually spent most of it surrounded by nature - in St James' Park, Green Park, and of course, in Hockney's exhibition. We walked round by Buckie Palace and there were thousands of people thronging. I thought perhaps Mrs Windsor was out on the balcony waving, and asked a policeman what was going on. No, it was just the normal changing of the guard and a band in red tunics marching by. We dismissed this as not being special enough. "See them any day" - and walked on through the park.

We found out we had gone completely the wrong way, so walked all the way back to the Palace. Still throngs of folk. We were quite far away, but could see the main gates being opened, and yes, the band was coming our way! We ran (all that running for buses pays) and got down to the barriers just as the band marched off into the distance! Still, I liked the back of their nice red tunics, so I chose this one for the blip, it being Very London.

But, while the most exciting part of the day was undoubtedly the exhibition, we did have a lot of excitement at the afternoon tea.

I noticed that Prince Harry was serving. Incognito, of course. He was wearing glasses, but he didn't fool me.

Every time he came anywhere near our table (we were away at the far end of the room, and he wasn't serving us at all) I dropped my scone/cream bun/sandwich and grabbed my camera. This went on for at least half an hour, and I have about a dozen photos of a blurry waiter. He must have noticed that the red light on my camera always shone when he ventured anywhere near us, because he eventually came up and asked if we'd like him to take a photo (of us).

"No!" I cried. "I want a photo of you!" He obliged. I didn't call his bluff, though. But he knew that I knew.

The exhibition was mobbed. It was really wonderful - such vibrant colours. What a talented man. He must work all day, every day. The films were beautiful.

Back home on the train, and many people had to stand the whole way. I'd hate to do that every day.

What an exciting day, with Prince Harry as a bonus. And it's not every day you can say that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.