Treegonk

By treegonk

Saab Stag

Went round to take some pics in my Mum's garden.

My Dad hit a deer when he was up north, maybe 30 years ago, in his old Saab 96.

Being the opportunist that he was, he decided that it shouldn't go to waste and chucked it in the back of the car. He brought it home to be sawn into pieces by a butcher friend and eaten. The car never really recovered and had a stale dead deer smell for the rest of its life. And it lasted a long time.

The antlers have been attached to the garden shed ever since and are a bit spooky, especially now they are covered in lichen and cobwebs. I'm sure that they are still growing :oO

I think that event might have been the catalyst that started my childhood hobby of collecting animals' skulls. I'll save that for another blip.

It reminded me of the rabbit in Donnie Darko today, which coincidentally, was released soon after 9/11 - apparently one of the reasons it flopped in the States - as part of the story involves a plane crashing into Donnie's house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.