The Wren

By TheWren

Loch Morlich

(The second of my backblips)

On Monday morning the temperature had fallen further and I made my way back to my son's house to finish the gardening in sleety drizzle. A visit first to a local garden store to buy some garden tools for prospective new tenants and as I was leaving the car park I was asked by workmen to wait for 5 - 10 minutes as they were painting a new sign on the exit slip road. I said, "no problem" and at that the boss man came up to my car window and said that he would sub me a tea/coffee in the restaurant, as I had been so obliging!! Good call, as I was ready for a cuppa before returning to the weeding. Whereas yesterday I had thoroughly enjoyed my work, this was a different story as the ground was now cold and wet and by the time I had finished my hands were frozen. Never mind, I got the job done and the garden looked fine when I left it to return south.

I made a slight detour to visit Loch Morlich, which is beautiful and very popular for water sports, sitting just below the Cairngorms. The forecast of snowy weather seemed possible now that I saw the thick cloud descending quite quickly over the hills, so I didn't dally long. The Loch was very still but there were plenty of holidaymakers at the beginning of their Easter break enjoying walking and picnicking beside the water.... Where the loch meets the tree line in this shot there is in fact quite a large area of beautiful sandy beach which is very busy during the summer time.

I continued my journey home slightly disconcerted by meeting two gritting lorries spreading salt on the road but felt that I was just ahead of the weather front. Cara and Bruce had been well spoilt by my friends and had enjoyed great walks while I had been away but seemed happy to see me home again.

Seems I got home from the North in time as I woke to a white layer all over the ground on Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.