Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Death of a Nemesis

From this exact spot in 1978 I defeated my nemesis, Duncan MacKenzie, in my school 100m final.

It was the only time I ever beat him. We were both always in the top 10 sprinters in Northumberland for our age group. I may have only beaten him once but it still sticks in my memory. Most profoundly because it was the only race my Dad ever managed to attend due to his work commitments. I didn't know he was there until just after I crossed the line. I remember him seemingly proud and typically English...job done, modest congratulations, no need for emotion or draw attention...next.

Soon after this point in time I would reject my athletic potential for a less glorious stage as a teenager.

Later that afternoon I ran again with Duncan. First in the 200m final that he won then in the 4x 100 relay; he ran in the 'glory' final leg. I always elected to run #3 leg because in a good relay team that is where the race is set up to be won.

I am typing this Blip entry 10 yards from where this all happened. I now live 300 miles from this spot, I left this area 20+ years ago. I am caught between the barrel of my first home and the one that my wife and I are making for our children in Essex. If I had not left I would not have met her or had two wonderful kids.

Oh speaking of which I am with my young children...I can hear their laughter as they play on the same swings that I did when I was there age. Everything is different but it all feels so comfortable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.