The view from here

By cathintheattic

Assistant 1 and 2 and Grandmother

I spent the afternoon doing an art activity in the big, open, public entertainment space in Accrington Market. I was feeling a little self conscious so approached the young girl on the left and her Grandmother (who was sitting knitting on one of the benches) and asked if she would be my first participant and stop me from looking like billy no mates. She leapt at the chance (she had been curious and was waiting to be asked) and went off to get her sister as well.

I worked with some lovely children and families today, but these were the constant (the girls took on the roles of assistants) and I hope we became friends during the afternoon. It turns out their Stepdad works on one of the stalls and their Mum has an outdoor stall, so during the holidays they sometimes have to come and spend the day in the market.

Their Gran lives with them after losing her husband and having two major heart attacks last year, so when they all come to the market she comes too and spends the day sitting on a bench in the market chatting to people and knitting. She says it is an incredibly friendly place and it really felt like it this afternoon.

I need to learn more about getting good photos in strong light and shade conditions. None of these came out well, but I knew they had to be my blip for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.