Picaday Anyday

By Picaday

Peerie Oolet!!

I wasn't sure what to blip today as I had an appointment in town this morning and wasn't sure what time I'd be back home. Of course I forgot to take the camera with me so didn't manage to capture the first lambs of the season. The first I've seen anyway!
But on getting home and coming into my little office to check my email ""Peerie Oolet"" was watching me so I just picked him up, whisked him off to the kitchen and took a quick photo while the tea was brewing.
Peerie Oolet was a Christmas gift from my lovely sister Anne. He is actually a paperweight made of cloth and measures about 5 by 5 inches. His tummy is black velvet and has a slight scent to it. The other fabric is of lovely quality too. He's really gorgeous and watches my every move!!
Now, I must explain what "Peerie Oolet" means because it's not actually got anything to do with an owl or 'owlet'. if there's such a word!
In Shetland where I live, a peerie oolet means a naughty child! It's not used so much these days in the 'newer' dialect but certainly would have been used by the older folks. I thinks it's more of an endearment than anything else. A bit like calling a child "a little monkey"!

I hope you like my Peerie Oolet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.