Northern Star

By Lifferz

The first pull of the year

I am massively into rhubarb...not only does it taste fab but it signals spring. This year for some reason it is amazingly huge and I didn't put any manure on the patch for once in winter (maybe that is why!). I have forced 2 crowns and 2 weeks ago not much was going on with them but today they were raising the large pots I keep them under...post are all removed now. This is a picture of the unforced stuff. It is amazonian and really red.

I am going to make one of the few dishes I cook really really well...it's a spin on Eve's pudding but it is ohhhh so much better with rhubrab than with peaches. I add a bit of vanilla essence and rosewater too and so you can bearly make out the bitterness of the fruit or is it a veg? It will be served with plain greek yoghurt as they had run out of creme fraiche.

Whenever there is a bank holiday I feel the need to make the most of it so I have started early. The plan is to get lots of study in and maybe get a long walk in up the canal to follow the annual scarecrow trial and get some blips of that!

Now before I forget...that recipe....here it is!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.