Mr John

By MrJohn

My new, old .....

.... objet d'art

I've had a day off to day, so after a lay in and a bit of housework I had a wonder in to town to try and find todays blip.

I pondered the interesting window display in the White stuff shop, contemplated asking the topless man with a binbag and can of larger if I could take his photo ( but thought better of it ). Then decided to have a look in the Oxfam charity shop

Walking past the glass cabinets full of the 'choice' objects, there on the shelf amongst the half sets of sherry glasses and once loved seaside momentoes was a happy looking kitchen impliment shouting ' BUY ME ! '.
It's cheeky red handle and stylish French curves were too much to resist so I succumed to temptation and took it to the cash desk.

The Lady of a certain age on the till looked at me, looked at the item I had taken to pay for, and asked me :

" can I ask, why you are buying that ? "

To which I replied, " I know it's a baby food processor. I'm not using it for that though. I just thought it was an interesting object ".

A smile lit up her face...

" Yes, an OBJET D'ART, we had a discussion in bric-a-brack this morning about wether or not to put it out. then decided someone might like to hang it on their wall as a hook or somesort" ( I liked her thinking ).

I handed over £1.50 and asked the lady to put the penny change in the collecting box on the counter ( I'm not as tight as some might say ;-) ), and went on my merry way.

So here it is, My new old yet another piece of junk, something to clutter up another surface, dust gatherer, Mouli-baby food processor... Objet d'art



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.