Sluice

This is part of the mechanism for raise and lowering a sluice gate. I think the days of it operating are long gone. I love the colours and textures with the mixture of wood and metal.
I went down to St Cross Hospital, or to give it the full title the Hospital of St Cross & Almshouse of Noble Poverty, to see what I could find The medieval buildings have provided food and shelter for hundreds of years. The principal activity of the Hospital continues to be the provision of individual, private apartments for a living community of about twenty-five elderly men. Known as 'Brothers' they wear black or red gowns and a trencher hat for daily church and other formal occasions.
The old sluice gate is just outside the grounds. I got some very odd looks from a few dogs walkers but no one stopped to ask what and why I was doing it; I bet they thought I was a tourist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.