My turtle turned purple on purpose

My turtle turned red by request
My turtle turned blue
But, then, wouldn't you,
If you had forgotten your vest?

poem © Celia Warren 2012
from Never Sit on a Squid - Celia Warren, Ginn, 1999

Grey, cloudy, windy and cold day today, mostly spent up the road looking after my mother who is suffering from a bad chest infection. She's slept much of the day and still fell asleep the minute I put her to bed tonight.

Meanwhile, I looked around her house to see what I could blip and my eye fell on this turtle (or tortoise?) ornament that dates back to my childhood. There's a baby turtle under its lift-off shell. Thought you might enjoy my silly ditty to accompany it.

Chuffed that my white African Violet of yesterday hit the spotlight page: that's two within a few days. Like buses, innit! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.