Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Basking blue dragon

Early start today, out before 9am. The sun was out and I didn't want to get baked later in the day. No blip plans today, just wing it and see what the blip monster has for me. There had been a lot of heavy rain in the night and just a few yards into my safari and already I was slipping and sliding inside my flip-flops. I really hate that feeling, so already I was thinking 'grab and go'.

Moving down stream, the first thirty yards is shaded from the morning sun by a fence along the concrete pond. This is where I get my spider and ladybird blips. Once past the fence, the sun reaches the ground and the dragons are dancing. A wave to the farmer, "Selamat pagi" (good morning). Fortunately, in the middle of a very muddy field, well out of reach of my packet of cigarettes.

Within a few yards of sun, I spotted this tiny blue dragon, body length a little more than an inch. It could easily be mistaken for a damsel fly, but it's large eyes, joined at the top and it's bulky thorax give it away as a dragonfly. Still a rare sight to see such a small species.

Sitting on dead leaves on the path, shooting this from above was not going to give me blip material and the only solution was to get down and dirty - very dirty! It was easy to see what the blip monsters price for today's blip was to be, as I did my monthly blip gear laundry yesterday. I even got mud on my chin collecting this image, so I hope you appreciate the effort. Benny and Lilly, my neighbors, fell about laughing when I arrived back home, covered from head to toe.

I managed three good images after processing. It seems a shame not to show them, so I have put them all in folio for those of you interested.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.