Flyway

By Albifrons

Parkin

Made a block of Parkin today.

Used my grannies recipe passed down via dad. A kilo of oats and a kilo tin of golden syrup. Turned out a beauty! All golden, crumbly and yet gooey and unctuous.

The sustainer of life. Full of energy. No wonder with the 1/2 kilo of Demerara sugar and 1/2 kilo of marge in it too......

I vaguely remember there always being a slab in the boot of the car when I was young. We were fed a chunk along with a piece of cheddar for a picnic lunch on long journeys. Or perhaps that was just once, and it made such an impact on me that I've mythologised it into a family tradition.

Anyway I now use it as hill fodder. That way, combined with the oats, I classify it health food. But add the cheese and it has to be a mighty hill to justify the calories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.