Travels with Alfie

By DavidCullen

The Barn

First day of the holidays and only a few days until we head off for Berlin and I'm feeling rather flat.

I don't know if it a reaction to all the effort at work over the last week to get ready for taking a few days off, but .....blah.

Alfie dragged me out for a walk around the village and it lifted my spirits a little. The sun shone, the birds did that birdsong thing they do and things looked more positive (in other words I stopped feeling sorry for myself).

I have loved this old barn for a long time. I feel it belongs in Provence rather than darkest Devon. I was tempted to do a grainy B&W, but then the blueness appeals to me. The old farm was clearly very grand at one time; an old Georgian farmhouse and many stone outbuildings - but times are harder and it is very dilapidated. It's the kind of farm that merits a B&W photo documentary along the lines of Chris Chapman (google him).

Have a wonderful weekend. I might get a couple more in before silence descends while we are away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.