Livraphotos

By Livra

Piegut market

Market day in Piegut where the main street is filled with stalls, and shut off to traffic. It has everything you can think of there. The cheeses, vegetables and fruit are groaning with the variety on offer. There are shoes and a stall that was selling straw hats, probably hoping the good weather would get him more sales. It is the biggest market in the Limousin. My brother and I cycled there, he in his electric bike and I wasn't that far behind. He only turns the electrics on going uphill but it was only working intermittently. Saw the short toed eagle again. It was perched on a dead tree in an open small field about 10 yards from the road. I stopped and it was looking at me but when I went to get the camera out he flew off.

There are local wines and olive oil on sale too and the French aperitif Pinot which you cannot get in Britain (I have looked). It came about by accident. A wine grower put some wine into a brandy cask thinking it was empty. He realised it wasn't empty and was going to throw it out but it smelled good so he tasted it and decided it was very good (he was right!!) and so it is now sold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.