Young Brock at Supper

According to my trail cam, there seems to be badger activity in the garden at roughly the same time each night, so I braved the elements, put on warm clothing and set up my camera in the greenhouse last night (after midnight). Just as I was thinking of going indoors, this young badger sauntered up the path and tucked in to the badger food with much noise and obvious relish. It's difficult to distinguish badgers when they usually arrive singly and in darkness, but this one was smaller than some of the ones we've had before, so I think he might be one of last year's cubs. He stayed for a few minutes, totally ignoring the flash, then trotted off into an adjacent garden. I took the opportunity to dash indoors into the warm, but he returned for second helpings soon after so I was able to watch him from the warmth of the kitchen.

This time last year I saw 5 hares chasing round in a field over the other side of the city, so more in hope than expectation, I set off to see if there was any chance of a repeat showing, but no, so technically a bad hare day. I was taunted by the yaffling and drumming of a green woodpecker, but failed to get a sighting let alone a shot, so very happy to have Young Brock to fall back on as a blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.