Reed bunting

The day dawned bright with a moderate frost, so I headed out to Ferry Meadows to test my replacement lens. I'd completely forgotten it was a Bank Holiday, and even though I arrived farly early there were lots of joggers, cyclists and dog walkers out, and very few water birds.

I noticed that, after the rain on Tuesday and Wednesday, the lakes were fuller than I've seen all winter, with most of the bankside fringe of reed sweet-grass underwater. I hope that this hasn't affected too many nests - a sudden rise in water level at this time of year can be devastating.

In the end the trees proved a more fruitful hunting ground. I watched this female reed bunting and her mate foraging in the field maple for some time. The male is more boldly marked, with a jet black head, but I rather like the subtle colouring of the female. This species is very frequent locally, breeding preferentially in wetland habitat such as bushy fens, reed-beds, withy beds and rushy pastures. I suspect they were searching for insects on the maple buds.

It is damp and mild again tonight. Our speckled hen has gone to spend her first night outside in the ark since her encounter with the fox. She is fully recovered now and seemed keen to return home to be with her companion hen full time. The house seems strangely quiet without her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.