The Wren

By TheWren

Shaping up

Two weeks ago I noticed intriguing pink flowers or fruit on the larch trees on the moor where I regularly walk the dogs. I wondered at the time if in fact they were the precursors of new cones and decided to monitor their growth.

This is worth looking at in Large where you will be able to see the cone shape forming much more clearly, and spot the cobweb.

This morning I blipped the next stage and it is quite interesting as you can see that the shape has spread a bit and is indeed beginning to take on the appearance, if not colour, of a cone. It is also beginning to grow slightly sideways before it turns upwards. I will check again in a couple of weeks to see how things are progressing.

The rest of the day has been quite busy but very enjoyable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.