Bubblebeach

By Bubblebeach

Great Friday

I took Amélie a walk along the canal to visit her Great Gran Gillan (pictured) today. Next week we plan to go down south to visit her other Great Gran. Its a exciting time.

Looking back I don't remember any of my Great Grandparents, so I guess I'm trying my best to try to be sure that Amélie will remember her's. I have a huge respect for people of this age who have brought up their own families, looked after others, always there when you need them most and always have something truly wise to say. I feel blessed to have known all four of my Grandparents, and I miss the 3 that are no longer with us every single day.

After returning home, we had some dinner and I managed to make it out to our local parish for the Good Friday service and Veneration of the Cross. The second part of the Easter Triduum.

Five minutes ago I rocked my daughter to sleep with a combination of old Scottish & American folk songs and some James Taylor. She smiled the whole time looking up at me until gently slipping to sleep as I tried to hold my tears back from just how peacefully innocent, happy and beautiful she looked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.