Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sights! Smells! Blips Galore! That's Brighton!

Out earlier than usual today for our promenade, and then Henry and I found ourselves up in the pedestrian precinct at 8.30, just on the off-chance that James, the Man-in-a-Red-Suit would come along.

A Very Good Coffee at the café next to James' favourite one (which is shut for four days). Henry doesn't really approve if you sit for a coffee. That's NOT what he's out for. But if he can sit up on your knee, like the cat he thinks he is, he's fine.

So there we were both were, heads swivelling to and fro, watching the comings and goings and people setting up stalls. Was that a flash of red I saw out of the corner of my eye? Yes!

... Oh, it's just the Postman..

There was a Wine and Food Festival on in Brighton today, so that was our destination, and not a drive along the coast as originally mooted. What sights! What smells! What sounds! Amazing food stalls, all locally produced or locally sourced. Sat in on a cooking demonstration and had a sample. Great wee crazy shops all through the Laines. Loads of cafes.

I stood beside a chap with a big camera taking photos and I asked if he was a blipper. I can see there's a lot of them around, thanks to the new fabby location map. No, he wasn't a blipper. But he'd come down from London for the day and his camera was red hot.

I couldn't decide which blip to use, but in the end went with the pink and black girls. I love the pose of the one in front. No idea what they were advertising. I hope it wasn't anything rude. I'll add a few more to my blipfolio, and try what TMLHereAndThere told me, to get the right photo to pop up first...

I spent a couple of hours last night doing my blip with the computer screen turned sideways. You couldn't tell, though, could you? I'd picked up the wireless keyboard, as it wasn't keyboarding any more, and obviously touched a few keys in a sequence. But which keys? Which sequence? Almost resorted to tipping the whole computer on its side, but C phoned and he'd found the answer. Thanks C! My neck was getting sore.

Excellent meal last night at the famous Italian restaurant on the beachfront! AND I spotted Heather Mills! Well, she was a blonde, with a small child, and was that a bit of a limp? It must have been her. That makes up for not seeing Jordan or Katie Price. Or Julie Walters.

But it doesn't make up for not seeing James, the Man-in-a-Red-Suit. But I'm not giving up hope yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.