Bagels? Bagels!

Woke up at 5:30 this morning to head to Trinity Park and pass out refreshments to the participants in the Victory Over Violence 1k/5k. Volunteering through the osteopathic medical honors and service fraternity. .... Which reminds me....
I am so happy that, for now, I am finished applying for leadership positions/organizations within my class.
I've recently been re-elected as Historian for our 2nd year. (Have camera, will travel.) I'm working orientation for the incoming medical class of 2016. (Have job, will come back to school one week early from travel.) Successfully made the cut-off for the SSP - the aforementioned honors/service fraternity among osteopathic medical students. (Have camera, will work for free apparently.) And I've blessedly been chosen as a TCOM student ambassador for the class of 2015. Really proud of that one to be able to represent our school to potential students and the community alike. That being said, my plate is full for the moment. No more applications, please. I am not a strong essay writer.

I am, however, currently very hungry. The downside to that is I've just started watching Game of Thrones on HBO and I have no food in fridge. Can I make a quick jaunt over to Target? I don't know... can I? I'm almost too hungry to go grocery shopping. (Central Market is much too far away for me today.) The early morning is starting to catch up with me.

Wishing I could count down the days until my D800 arrives from Adorama. Buuuuuuut, they're closed for the next week in observance of Passover and there isn't any sort of publicized waiting list. Please oh please don't be more than a month.

My thoughts seem so much clearer the minute that I've closed my eyes to sleep each night. I wake up and they've gone foggy once more. I keep thinking back to the entry I wrote the day I came back from Africa last summer. I had the "husband catcher" henna tattoo on my hand. Within a week, I was lost in love with a boy from Mexico who lives in the Dominican Republic. Silly girl. More than anything else in the world, I am scared to death of settling when it comes to love and my future. Since the inevitable demise of that impossible long-distance relationship, (I mean .. seriously, Liz? Seriously?) I have now officially been single for the longest stretch of time that I can remember. I feel as though I'm working backwards, healing up the broken pieces of my heart that I've given away. (Dramatic? Shut up. This is my story.) Until recently, I didn't really know what a hopeless romantic was. I'm beginning to understand. It's exhausting. I throw in the towel. I'm sick of losing. Some nights I go to sleep so utterly thankful that I'm no longer in the relationships that I've been in. Emotional, mental abuse. To hell with it. I am stronger than the words that have tried to bring me down. I am stronger than the silence that refuses to forgive.

So I've begun my waiting.. with no more distractions. For real, this time. No more biting my tongue.
This has been a productive Lent. Lots of prayers. Lots of repetition. Lots of grace.

------
three years ago today. love that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.