Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Casey at the Bat

There was ease in Casey's manner as he stepped into his place;
There was pride in Casey's bearing and a smile on Casey's face,
And when, responding to the cheers, he lightly doffed his hat,
No stranger in the crowd could doubt `twas Casey at the bat.

Ernest Lawrence Thayer, circa 1888

His name really is Casey, and this resulted in a double. though he was left on third base at the end of the inning.

Liza and I went to our favorite park again today - a gorgeous SPRING day, so many people out walking or gardening or playing in the park.

Today is the first day of Little League, and I stumbled on this exhibition game (though I missed the parade). I've been on the lookout for a baseball game to photograph. This field is behind the community garden (allotment, for you UKers) where I used to have a plot. I always loved the sound of the baseball games as I puttered and planted and pulled weeds. Crack of the bat...cheer of the crowd....

Liza got to play with Ellie the poodle while I shot photos. When I stop to shoot, I attach her lead to the scooter with a clip - she's so patient whilst I focus on other things. Of course, it gives her more time to thoroughly sniff and inspect, so I don't think she really minds.

View Large.
And view a few more shots from the game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.