Ways Of Seeing

By dollyfish

Nice Car

The only cars I'll ever admire are vintage cars. Other than that, they do nothing for me. Although this one is slightly tainted by the parking ticket the traffic warden slapped on it. Just goes to show, beauty ain't everything.

It seems that everyone has an old photo album somewhere with a photo of their parents, with their car parked up on the hard shoulder, and the youthful couple lounging on the grassy slope, perhaps even enjoying a picnic. Were there no parks in the 1960s? Are these photos just cover ups of people trying to make the best of a situation when their car has packed up on the motorway? No wonder they made parking on the hard shoulder illegal, it must have been crammed with wild young couples raving it up along the M1.

I know nothing about cars and even walked away from this one without noting the make/model. Once, I called the police when I saw a man attacking a woman in a car driving past my house. They asked me what type of car it was and I said "It was black and about medium sized." Thankfully, I had also remembered the first half of the number plate.

I still remember the woman's screams as she was being attacked, they haunt me every now and again and I wonder who she is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.