She left me on Friday...

By DiscoDown

All-day session

It's my Company year end again, and I'm determined not to let my accounts wait until they are due before getting the figures done. Every year, since I started freelancing, I seem to play catch-up with my accounts and it's always a mad rush to get them done.

This year is going to be different. With my wife out with the kids for the day, this was the perfect opportunity to get my accounts for last year up to date and confirm my corporation tax obligations. Being right at the start of a new tax year, I can then start doing my finances the way they should be done on a monthly basis. That will make things much easier for me and my accountant (who must bloody hate me) and I can actually start planning and forecasting my Company finances, instead of reacting.

So, I gathered all the necessities together in the dining room (laptop, paperwork, food, a big pot of Suki tea, and the remote for my TV and Sky box), opened up the big dining room doors so I could see right through to the big telly in the living room, and spent the day getting things done with the Masters golf and some Baseball on tv in the background.

It was a strangely enjoyable experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.