Evie Milo

By eviemilo

That wasn't there yesterday!

A new oil platform has appeared on the Firth of Forth, quite close to the shore. On my coastal path walk yesterday I got a bit freaked out as I saw this thing to the left of Inchkeith and was convinced it wasn't there before, then a little further along the walk it had moved to the right of Inchkeith - was I going mad?

Nope. When I actually stood still and watched, the oil platform was actually moving very slowly - being pulled along by a tiny ship. My camera battery had died so I couldn't take a movie or a picture of it and by the time I got home it had gone past the house and vanished around the corner of the cliff.

So I went down to Pettycur Bay today to see where it had ended up. I'm not sure I'd want to stare out the window at that every morning so I'm glad it ended up here, but I feel so sorry for the people living close to it as it's very noisy and a very big blot on the landscape/seascape. I wonder how long it's going to be there - not seen/heard anything on the news about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.