The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

House of Cards

There are days where I feel as if I live in a house of cards, unsure as to whether or not everything may come tumbling down on me at the drop of a pin. A metaphor for the condition of my life? Perhaps. Or more likely, the uncertainty of living in an older home with problems of its own.

Charles Eames, known for his outstanding art and architecture, created a card construction game many years ago. I was given a set of these cards when I was a child. Ironically, although Eames was an American, my set of cards was made in "Western Germany," and purchased for me by my family in Denmark.

I have cherished these cards for years, and recently discovered them again when going through a box of items in storage. I could not resist taking them out and sorting through the various designs, selecting those that reflected the people and things in my current life.

Maybe you will see yourself in one of these cards, or perhaps not, but regardless, you will see a piece of me. Another piece of the puzzle in the life of a lovechild.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.