Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A dreich day ends in bottomless pleasure!

Henry got all excited this morning because TWO of us were putting shoes on ready to go promenading, but JR lasted about two minutes. The day looked all right from inside, but outside it was blustery and cold and though not raining, one seemed to just Get Wet.

Undaunted, Henry and I soldiered on in the gale. Well, I soldiered. Henry trotted. Happily. As usual. Today there was a man out with a hand gliding surfing parachute thingie. I tried to get a photo of him, but he shot out to sea so quickly, he was soon a wee dot in my viewfinder. I had been a bit worried about him landing up in France within half an hour, but no - then he shot in again just as fast. He seemed to know what he was doing.

When you have a dog to take walks, your day starts earlier. You seem to have more day. So we had time for a leisurely morning coffee at our Italian caffe (no sign of Man-in-a- Red-Suit) before a drive along the beach road to Bexshill to see the De la Warr Pavilion.

What a great place. AND it was out of the wind and rain. Some great art installations too. One of them was three huge towers that lit up in sequence and were like gigantic (fifty) two-bar electric heaters. Everybody coming in from the cold enjoyed them, though not for the reason perhaps the artist had intended.

Today's blip was of the wee pavilion things outside. I liked the reflections, and that flag was about to be ripped off the pole. I got soaked getting this blip. But that's not as bad as the blip of Eastbourne Pier, where I got a great shot of raging waves and nearly got swept away (I exaggerate only slightly). But there was a great big rain splodge on my lens, so my heroic attempt to get a really good atmospheric blip was all to no avail. I added a couple more from today in the blipfolio - all wet.

At the Food Festival the other day a local bus pass holder, recognising like minded folk (ie food loving- possibly to the point of greed- but canny with it) told us of a great pub along the 12 bus route that she goes to every week. It's a carvery for £3.50 and you can go up as many times as you like. This sounded too good to be true, but we humoured her at the time.

Never ones to pass a bargain, we happened to spot the very pub on the way back. Not true of course. The bus pass holder was exaggerating.

Not £3.50, go up as many times as you like. No! £3.99 and go up as many times as you like!!! Who could resist that? Not us.

We did not pile our plates as high as some folk. We had four different roast meats - turkey, beef, pork and gammon. Help yourself to veges and roast spuds. We were very happy. But my cup runneth-ed over when I spotted puddings on the menu - bottomless custard with your apple tart, and bottomless ice cream sundae!!

I plumped for the ice cream sundae, and it nearly got into today's blip, but I didn't want to highlight my utter greed, in that I did not go up once, not twice, but THREE times to fill it up! And that was despite a raging ice cream headache! I may need to go and lie down now.

This is our last day in Brighton - Hove, Actually - I've learned to say. We've had such a great time. We've eaten far too much. Caught up with rellies, and fallen in love with Henry - What more could you want?

Last chance tomorrow morning in the precinct for James... fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.