this luminous life.

By Laura

Embryonic Journey.

Jefferson Airplane.

Rushed around doing errands all day.
Sped home afterwards to have time to finish packing
before catching the train leaving in two hours.
And... managed to get pulled over for my first speeding ticket! Haha.
Took some time to do that. Then rushed home.
Quickly packed then rushed back to the police station
to pay my ticket and get my driver's license back. $75.
Sped back home, grabbed my bags,
raced to the Metra train station. Made it in time. Whew.
Only to end up standing on the wrong side of the tracks.
Watched the train go by and tried to race after it.
Didn't hear the announcement over the loudspeaker
that they switched the tracks from the usual. Dammit.

Grabbed a cab with a fellow stranded passenger. $60.
Spent an hour and a half in Chicago traffic.
Ended up missing my Amtrak train by an hour.
Rushed into Union Station.
Found out both reservations had been canceled.
Was forced to purchase new round-trip tickets. $70.
(More than twice the original price I paid.)

Hung out in Union Station. Finally ate.
Grabbed a later train. First time riding Amtrak!! :)
Ended up sitting next to someone and made a new friend.
(I love meeting people on trips.)
FINALLY arrived in Champaign-Urbana and saw Ryan. PRICELESS.

Despite today's events, the best I could manage
was a shot of my bag during dinner.

WHEW! :-D

[A year ago today.... flagpole.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.