dark|adapted

By dark

going up... going up... going up...



The elevators where I work have been kind of screwy lately.

As I was leaving this afternoon, waiting for a ride down, two of the elevators directly across from each other suddenly opened up and began serenading me with their prerecorded voices - "Going up... going up... going up... going up...."

There was no one going up. The up button wasn't even pressed.

But I swear, they both stayed open for five minutes repeating that same chorus, as if imploring me to take a ride to parts unknown... "going up... going up... going up..."

I resisted the urge, and finally they gave up - closing up and going up without me.

Shortly thereafter, another door opened, offering the expected downward path. I took it.


Still, I have to wonder - what did I miss? What does this say about me, and my life, that I'm no longer willing to hop on a random "up" elevator, just to see where it goes?


What have I become?







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.