Maryland's state crustacean

The 'blue crab' got its common name from the color of its claws. Its scientific name (which I now forget) means "beautiful swimmer which is savory" -- a bit of a curse for said crustacean, if you ask me...

Its meat compares to the sweetness of lobster meat (minus the price tag...) and it's eaten in a variety of ways -- including whole, as "soft shell crabs" (immediately after they molt.) That was a bit of an experience the first time I did that! My favorite way though is sitting with friends on the patio of an old fashioned crab shack, tables covered in rolls of brown wrapping paper, with heaps of 'all you can eat' crabs, wooden mallets and tall glasses of cold beer.

gawd... I've just made myself totally hungry! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.