Blink

Too late to bed again. What a fool. What on earth kept me up?

Heading into work, the rain against the bus windows, the flickering car headlights, I'm the somnambulist on the top deck. The cars hiss by my window, Like the waves down on the beach. What were the next lines?

And now later, the afternoon snooziness is upon me. Just as well I'm not operating machinery: I'd saw my bloody thumb off. Nodding through a meeting can't do any great damage. What did I just agree to? At worst, probably just a follow up meeting. And they'll send the actions out in any case. On receipt of the minutes, containing the said actions, I shall send an email as instructed. And at said follow up meeting I shall declare, "I'm waiting for them to get back to me".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.