Down in the Dip

By DownintheDip

Favouritism Pie

This was presented to me this evening.
Myself and the girls were round at the neighbours. They asked where their brother was, I told them he was staying the night at a friends and unfortunately let slip that he had gone karting today. As they had spent the day at home, all hell broke loose with the unfairness of it all.
In fairness to the girls they have had a good few late nights so were very tired. It was as if every upset of their young lives came bubbling up and exploded (x 3) - all of it vented at me. Their brother is the eldest and he seems to have a bludgeoning social life, does every sport under the sun and always manages to wangle money out of us. I do agree with them, he does get more but I disagree that that means we love him more!
So we managed to calm the girls by giving them paper and pencils to draw a picture, all seemed to be going well until this was produced and then they ended up making one each. A pie chart showing their mum and dad's favouritism and love for each child, with additional helpful comments. It is not an easy thing to see. Down in black and white (or flourescent pink pen) your kids viewpoint of their place in the family. They all agreed that one of the daughters has the smallest wedge of the pie but she is actually the easiest to live with! Maybe I've just been taking her for granted.
When number one son comes home tomorrow he can make his own favouritism pie, I reckon it will look quite different to theirs.
So I would just like to use this public forum to announce to my four children that I may love them all in slightly differently ways but that my pie has four very equal quarters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.