Today's Special

By Connections

Two for Two

My title refers to having had lunch with a friend last week and another friend this week, a good start for April. Next week will be too busy to keep the momentum going, but that's okay, because the extra busyness stems from preparations for our trip to Portland the following week, where we plan to meet up with several Blip sisters!

Back to the present -- my friend C and I met at Brandywine Kitchen today, which I first blipped on March 2. Her lunch was more photogenic than my soup and salad -- Quinoa-Wild Salmon Cakes, one of several gluten-free options there, served with a roasted red pepper aioli, avocado, cucumber, and tomato.

Since C selected Brandywine's house salad to accompany her entrée, rather than their famous organic hand-cut fries (UK chips), it seemed quite reasonable to us to try another gluten-free item -- a chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwich filled with "super vanilla" from Mallard, our local ice cream maker. It was the best ice cream sandwich I've ever had, just as good in its own way as the Quinoa-Wild Salmon Cakes, and that's saying a lot!

Two hours passed quickly in wide-ranging conversation and the pleasures of the table, and then it was time for me to head for home to meet with A, whom we hope will be able to tame our front garden. I liked the ideas we discussed, and look forward to seeing her again on Friday, when she'll return to divest the garden of its weeds before any more of them go to seed, and present her proposal for its rejuvenation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.