A Day at the Seaside

With his Lordship being somewhat economic with the truth downright misleading and venturing far away into the Biggar Hills by himself I discovered later, I decided to leave the Dower House cleaning to another day and take myself to the seaside.

North Berwick was my port of call and beautiful it looked in the sunshine and warmth. It was hard to remember the snow of yesterday as families strolled along the beach, and dogs got the paws wet.
There were even two little girls in swimsuits braving the paddling pool on the east sands.

With the smell of sand, seaweed and sea in my nostrils, I had lunch on a bench overlooking the west sands and people watched.
Although there was plenty to look at on the beach, the sky was full of interest too, and in the distance the sun sparkled on the coast of Fife.

I gave the Seabird Sanctuary a miss as it seemed that every holiday maker was heading that way but I was disappointed that the ice cream van was not in position outside; the owner could have retired on possible takings today.

Home by train to make a practice cake in readiness for my book group next week.
It looks OK but I'm waiting for that sinking feeling. The formidable ladies in my book group frighten me to death with their abilities in gluten free cake making.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.