There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Sky Water: The Enchanted Pond, Revisited

I stopped by a local pond on my way to work, to watch the geese and check out the morning reflections.

This is the same pond where I shot my 100th blip, Sunrise on an Enchanted Pond. The tree is at the opposite end of the pond from where the sunrise shot was taken. Last time, I was looking into the rising sun; this time, the morning sun was behind my left shoulder.

If you look closely, you can see the almost-full moon peeking out from the sky, just to the left of the uplifted branches of the tree. A pair of geese are canoodling at the edge of the land where that tree branch that bends down to the left touches the water, the branch itself and the branch's reflection joining there to form a circle. (I had not thought of it, but I guess one of these geese may have been the golden one that appeared and sailed so elegantly into the sun in that 100th-blip photo.)

I used the "vivid" mode on my camera, which bumps up the color saturation a bit. It was a lovely scene already, but the "vivid" mode gave the water that extra-special boost of blue and turned the floating leaves golden. Sky water, as Thoreau himself might say . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.