Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The one that got away

Really undecided tonight. I was in the car driving to my chosen location when the pre-dawn sky caught fire with underlit clouds of a blood red colour. Just as fleetingly as it appeared it was gone. This was fully 15 minutes before the scheduled dawn.

In the hour I spent around the canal and pool the sun never penetrated the clouds again. The swan was still on her nest, her eye following my every moment but she resolutely refused to lift her head to provide a more interesting shot. I never knew it was so tiring sitting on eggs!

In the end I decided to shoot photograph her partner but preferred this treatment of the canal margins which still had mist lying over the water. Another in my occasional series of Landscape 500.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.