Charlotte's photos

By charlottebee

I wish I could keep this fireplace

When I moved into my student house - I knew straight away I wanted this room! Although it's on the ground floor and is freezing (only a little more than the others though) - I just love the fireplace (not so much the old gas heater though). I think it really fits in with my things -or , my things really fit in with it! Im hoping to end up with fireplaces like this in my house (eventually) - although those type of fireplaces aren't to everyone's taste and they're all getting ripped out and broken up. My grandparents actually had fireplaces like this but they all got broken up and now they're the basis of a rockery in the garden which looks wonderful. Anyway - in the photos are:
An old embroidered fire guard - a little faded but the ladies faces are still beautiful.
Lots of old books - including one called "scruffy: the adventures of a mongrel in movieland" which is full of wonderful hollywood photos and is written with so much humour and 1940s charm. They mostly all have inscriptions which is why i bought them - this is only a small sample of the ones i have picked up in charity shops.
Brass animals - im a huge fan of them - again,another throwback from the 70s (perhaps) , very out of fashion but i really don't care! They're only ever a few quid and someone has to rescue them from second hand shops.
Brass fan mirror, juice glasses with white swans etched into them - only have three but i think they look lovely. Im still looking for a fourth (although they're far too pretty to use).
A sheffield pewter badger pot - from my dad, i always liked it. There's not much inside -just a few spare buttons.
The tealights I have smell like puddings - i think they're custards or something unusual.
I will miss this room a great deal and have promised myself to build a fireplace like this - an idea which my mum thinks might not work!

I'm going to be without a phone for ages as I finally managed to get it sent back - argh - might not be able to blip for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.