0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

M

For today's photo, I must first start by describing the topic: Dutch Angle or Dutch Tilt if you prefer (ODC group, please bear with me).

Very simply, a Dutch Angle is achieved by tilting the camera, to the right or left, such that the normal horizontal axis is at an angle to the side of the frame - think somewhere between portrait and landscape.

Typically, the effect is used in movies to create a sense of drama, tension or unrest. Until I read about it, I did not realise that one of my favourite films (The Third Man) uses the Dutch Angle to emphasize the protagonists alienation in a foreign environment - I shall have to re-visit that film!

For the shot, I wanted to incorporate the film noir style along with the tilt. It seemed a good opportunity to utilise a silhouette in the doorway (iconic of film noir) and the tilt to the right seemed the most unnatural to me and hence the ideal one for creating the effect required for the shot.

I was complaining a while back how I couldn't wait for British Summer Time to begin but ironically for this shot I had to wait till way after 9PM to take this as it wasn't quite dark enough!

Thanks to the ODC Admin for this topic - I learned something new in the world of images and am eternally grateful :)

Our Daily Challenge (ODC): DUTCH ANGLE

112 Pictures in 2012: #88 Silhouette(s)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.