Life's Too Short

By MRuddle

Uh-Oh

Well this morning was eventful. I was rudely awoken at 7:30 by a loud beeping. I lay in bed for a few minutes before I decided to go and see what was going on. I emerge from my room to find mum manically pressing buttons on the burglar alarm to no avail. It wasn't the fire alarm and it wasn't the burglar alarm so what was it?

Then I remembered the carbon monoxide alarm that we installed in the lounge earlier this year. Someone told mum that as we have an enclosed wood burning stove then there is a danger of incomplete combustion occurring and carbon monoxide being formed, so we put in an alarm. Mum went to check and it was, by this time Benjamin and just started to stir so I yelled at him and we all piled out of the house in myself and mum in dressing gowns and Benjamin in nothing but his boxers and a hastily grabbed hoodie.

Mum grabbed the phone on the way out and then the question of who do you call? I suggested the new 101 number as I wasn't convinced that there was a major emergency. Nobody was dying, no crime was being committed and the house wasn't in danger of falling down. They redirected mum to 999 as we had to get hold of the fire brigade. They sent some people out but we weren't hanging around in the cold so we went next door and got a hot drink whilst we waited.

It was quite exciting when a fire engine rolled up our tiny close and the men all jumped out. Turns out there was nothing wrong at all it was probably just an electrical fault. So they went away I grabbed this picture out of the window and the day continued very uneventfully. Revision, student finance and accommodation research for university.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.